Breastfeeding: my journey begins

My little girl was born last Thursday so it was time to test out what it is like for mothers when they start breastfeeding for the first time.

The first recommendation is to initiate breastfeeding within the first hour after birth. I had a fairly standard delivery, which meant that this was possible for me. So I am happy to report that after giving my wishes to breastfeed before the delivery, the nurses helped me after the birth to start breastfeeding.

My baby cried a lot in the period immediately after the birth, and they also wanted to take her for the important measurements and tests, but as soon as this was done and she had calmed down, she was back in my arms.

I was expecting her to have a stronger rooting reflex when I stroked her cheek. This wasn’t really the case so it took some time to get started. However, once she had latched on, I could feed her for about ten to fifteen minutes sometime in the first hour after birth.

I am happy to report that in the New Jersey hospital I delivered, I was supported in this vital first step to initiate breastfeeding.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

